Movie reveiw: The Hunger Games

Last week, I saw the film, “The Hunger Games”, based of the book of the same title By Suzanne Collins. I went into the theater with my own set of Ideas about what it’d be like; Dark, violent, and have an intriguing story line. While it was all those and then some, it both succeeded and failed to meet my expectations.

Was it Cool? You can bet your skid-marked undies it was. Was it Uplifting? Heck no. It was a depressingly dark film, set a fictional dystopian world of entertainment and poverty. The world, Panem, is not un-smiler to Rome in ancient times,there is a down trodden lower class that’s only purpose was to support the lavish lifestyles of the elite and super elites.
The main event is called, you guessed it, The Hunger games; where one boy and one girl are chosen out all 12 t districts(24 combatants in all)  to fight to the death. The elitist themselves were made of text book Narcissists, with a fashion sense that was cartoonish at best.(Ala Dr Seuss) It is explained through out the film that these elitists are both cruel and as uncaring as the spectators of the Roman Coliseum. The film focuses on the struggles of the Lower class, thus we are introduced to our Heroine, Katniss Everdeen. If you’ve seen the film, I’ll spare you all the details, simply put, Katniss volunteers for the Hunger Games in the place of her little Sister.

This is where My first problem arises, when the Sister and the mother come to say goodbye to Katniss, The mother is almost useless, and of course she’s in what can only be described as shock. In order to snap her out of it, Katniss talks very sharply with her mother, the toneo0f which was one a mother might use when admonishing her three year old, except the roles were reversed. Call me old fashioned, but that sort of disrespect doesn’t fly with me, Never has, never will. Also, where was the father during the whole time? Yes, I know, he was killed in some mining accident, but why did Mrs. Collins feel the need to effectively remove any sort of father figure from Katniss’ life? For that matter, why do so many young adult novelists feel that if there are parents in their story, it’ll make it un-cool? Sorry, but that a bunch of BS. I can think of two really awesome stories off the top of my head that have the parents not only in the story, but as major players.

Also, the very fact that the contestant age group was 12-18 years old was highly unbelievable. Seriously? 12 year olds trying to kill 18 year olds? Why would someone even think of that? Why not have the contest 16-18? 12 is WAY to young for any sort of Life and death situation. Am I saying that no twelve year old could handle themself in a life and death situation? No, there are more than likely some who could/can handle it better than me. I’m just saying, an author has utter control over what he or she writes down, and it disturbs me when young children are put into adult situations like that.; I don’t mind violence, and I even don’t mind cursing, but when twelve and thirteen year olds are made to do that on paper or on the big screen, That when I get disturbed..

One more thing, I’ve not read the books, I don’t know how closely the film follows them, But I was a little disappointed when it didn’t go much more into detail District 11’s uprising after Rue died, Did the book go into more detail? I don’t know, But I wish there was more said about the political implications and consequences of the uprising.

Now, Personally, I though the Hunger Games was a really good movie, But it had the potential to be the best one I’ve ever seen, (Aside from the Hobbit of Course :] ) but it didn’t get quite there. It was as if  the Little Engine who Could took a shortcut three quarters of the way up instead of powering it’s way up and over the top.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

